Black Swan. Not for a black mood.

Amee and I had a movie date today, trying to catch up on Golden Globe and Oscar noms.  Came down to Black Swan and The Fighter, both of which I knew would be perhaps a tad challenging due to recent personal events.   After watching trailers for both I chose the ballet movie over the brother’s wrestling together picture.  Lose/lose maybe.

Amazing, riveting, but so disturbing in such a lonely way.  Most of you have probably seen or certainly will see so no spoilers here, but the relationship between Natalie Portman’s character and her mother, hauntingly done by Barbara Hershey, was just really pit-of-the-stomach creepy.   Daren Aronofski seems to have studied well his Polanski (think Rosemary’s Baby) and other gritty urban chill like The Exorcist.  The daylight never shines on the streets of the Upper West Side, Portman’s character so wound up, so internally torn up, the smothering home-bound mother, led me around the dark hallways of my latenight torment.

Not for the faint-hearted, the sad-hearted or those suffering from the recent loss of anyone close to them I think.  I’ll keep you posted when I catch “The Fighter”.

One thought on “Black Swan. Not for a black mood.

  1. No one does psychotic as well as Darren Aronofsky. If you’d asked, I would have told you to stay far away from that movie.
    Remember, I went to Belvoir Terrace with the Messings and we knew many young dancers, several of whom performed in the Nutcracker for the New York City Ballet. They were all very thin and they all worked very hard to be perfect…at everything. This movie was a little too close to home and I almost walked out. Nonetheless, Natalie Portman and Barbara Hershey are fantastic in it.

Leave a Reply

